“Each time my heart is broken it makes me feel more adventurous”

-(Frank O’Hara)

Money and any faith I had in California to deliver me from the troubles of my own creation dried up, and I am staying here in Dallas for the rest of the year.  To go back to the O’Hara poem:

“I’ve got to get out of here. I choose a piece of shawl and my dirtiest suntans. I’ll be back, I’ll re-emerge, defeated, from the valley;” (Meditations in an Emergency)

I’m working on those problems.  Things that have been cheering me up:

-I’ve been listening to this set from the Issue Project Room by guitarist Mary Halvorson with Ingrid Laubrock (saxophone) and Tom Rainey (drums).  The advice at the link is true, repeat listens are definitely rewarding.  Click the down arrow at the right of the embedded player to d/l the mp3.  The first time I listened to this, I put it on to be in the background while I did a lot of other things.  They never got done; I was motionless, staring out the window, totally enraptured until the second listen was over.

-Looking at these photos and reading about Stalin’s Lost Railway is pretty fascinating.  How many projects were put into motion by those in power that have been abandoned, their purpose lost to history, little gems of insanity waiting to be uncovered?  Or unleashed?

-Then there’s this site of photos of abandoned urban spaces – which reminds me of my friend Sean’s show in Canada, photoXplorers.

-and another musical note, here’s a blog of Italian Folk records mp3’d for your convenience.  Awesome.  I am a big fan of people providing us out of print albums.

-finally, if you’re around my age and had cable growing up, you probably loved 120 Minutes on MTV – you know, back when MTV had something to do with music.  Well, enjoy the 120 Minutes archive – I know what I’ll be doing for the next 15 years.

One response to ““Each time my heart is broken it makes me feel more adventurous”

  1. OMG 120 minutes archive!

Leave a Reply

