Desert Island? More like a pirate oasis!

One of my favorite folks from art school has opened a wonderful store full of art books, prints, graphic novels, indie comics, zines, selected print books, magazines, and all other kinds of goodness.  It’s called Desert Island, and it’s off the Metropolitan G or Lorimer L stops here in Brooklyn.  You should go, now!  It’s the bees knees.  I expected to find places like this everywhere when I moved to NYC, and was sadly disappointed when there were none.  Well now there is!

He also has signings/parties with different authors and artists – the schedule, address, and other info is on the website at the link above.

I am in no way associated with the place (except that I will now visit and buy things there), and Gabe didn’t ask me to advertise, but I think the store is so rad that I wanted to say something.

I got a Harvey Kurtzman book I’ve been looking for, and Bill Daniel‘s Mostly True, both of which I really look forward to scoping – it’s so satisfying to buy books like this in person, to peruse before you buy and talk about the artist with someone who knows.

I know I linked to places where you can buy those books online, but you should go buy them in person.  Talk to Gabe, too – he’s good people.  I truly believe we should support indie brick-and-mortar bookshops, as the chains are all going bankrupt and OMG HOW WILL YOU GET YOUR ART BOOKS WHEN SNAKE PLISKEN BLOWS THE POWER GRID AND THE INTERNET IS HISTORY!?!?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

