summer is coming

miraculously

i found myself in the state

that adulthood cries to recapture

young and dumb and confident

that perfect punk i thought i was

when i was seventeen

and everything in the world

belonged to me

(or nothing).

[make no mistake, this is about making yourself / after being sick all week…maybe it was the cold medicine…our office oddly crowded with bodies all day…then they left, and i turned to put music on…later it struck me, that’s when that feeling began. perfectly summed up by the universe, later…at the shopping center bathroom, I turned to leave the stall…and there on the floor, a perfect magic safety pin…the exact size I used to pin through my shirt…right above my nipple…when I was that perfect punk, unawares]

Leave a Reply

