some plans, some music

I’ve started learning how to play guitar – if you ever need to be humbled, this is the way to do it. One side effect is the rekindling of my love of live music, something I haven’t cared as much about since my Chicago days. Now I’m planning to do a bit of traveling to see show, especially Doc Watson and Ralph Stanley, while they’re still able to perform and all (I wish many more years of health and shows to both of them).

This Saturday at Jalopy in Brooklyn there’s the King Wilke Opry, with the Jennifer Milich Band, and King Wilkie and Friends headlining – featuring folks from Loose Marbles and Bruce Springsteen’s Seeger Sessions band!

Then March 8th, in Philly, I’ll be at World Cafe Live to see Mia Doi Todd and Jose Gonzalez. I’ve been listening to Gonzalez a ton lately – he’s an interesting guy, and worth your time on wikipedia, google, and youtube.

After that I’m going to rest and recover funds so that in April I can go to Merlefest out in North Carolina. It’s an ‘Old-Time Plus’ festival, named after and dedicated to Doc Watson’s son who died in a farming accident in the 80’s and was an interesting and great guitar player.  Both Doc Watson and Ralph Stanley will be there, as well as some newer acts I’ve been meaning to catch, like Old Crow Medicine Show and Abigail Washburn & The Sparrow Quartet featuring Bela Fleck.

Then there’s the Bristol Rhythm & Roots Festival in September, but that’s too far away!

2 responses to “some plans, some music

  1. Ooh! Thanks for posting about these shows. I am totally out of the loop these days, and I need to find a way to rekindle my music obsession and dust off my guitar.

  2. you’re going to be in Philly March 8? rats, I’m up in NYC that weekend. I’ll be there through the 11th.

Leave a Reply

