Oh life, you slay me

I was thinking about how I’m working on a screenplay, and have no ideas yet for a spec original TV pilot, when my brain went *click* and I saw instantly how both the feature screenplays I’m writing first drafts of make better hour drama TV pilots. In a way that’s good, because when I get back on the writing horse tomorrow I’ll be working towards a more immediate payoff (having an original TV Spec Pilot written) than a much longer term payoff. This also solves the problems that the main script I’m working on has, which is too much happening too fast. Now I can have what was the first act happen in 45 minutes and be done, leaving things hanging that would draw viewers back to a TV show. Sigh. If only I had realized this three weeks ago – but at least I’m starting to know enough to realize this kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

